Skip to content Exit mobile menu

Dr Alex Sinclair to Co-Chair The Association for Science Education

Date article published
SHARE TwitterFacebookLinkedin

St Mary’s University’s Dr Alex Sinclair has been elected as Co-Chair of The Association for Science Education (ASE).

Alex has had a number of roles within the ASE, including chairing the National Futures Committee (which provides support and voice for Initial Teacher Education and Continuing professional development) and editing the organisation’s journal: Science Teacher Education.

Portrait of Dr Alex Sinclair

On 1st August, Alex, alongside Professor Leigh Hoath from Leeds Trinity University, took up Co-Chair of the organisation. Alex and Leigh are the first to co-chair this position where they will work closely with the incoming Chair, Jane Oldham, and the outgoing Chair, Helen Harden.

The ASE has been supporting science teachers and technicians for over 100 years. It seeks to create a powerful voice for science education professionals to make a positive and influential difference to the teaching and learning of science both nationally and internationally. Alex and Leigh will be supporting the organisation’s CEO Lynn Ladbroke with a focus on ensuring the association is at the forefront of providing the right support for science educators in the current educational climate.

Alex Sinclair said, “Having been involved with the Association for Science Education for some time now, it is a real privilege to take on this Chair. Being able to work closely to support the association and its goals is going to be both exciting and rewarding.”

Professor Michael Reiss, President of The Association for Science Education said, “Alex and Leigh bring with them a wealth of experience across both primary and secondary phases and have rich backgrounds not only in the classroom but also in academia, as authors, as editors and as consultants. They are a credit to the ASE and able to represent the Association externally, as well as command respect internally.”

Professor Jacob Phillips, Dean of the Faculty of Education, Theology, and the Arts at St Mary’s University Twickenham said, “We’re thrilled that Alex is taking- on the role of co-chair for the ASE. This Association is crucial for science education professionals, and it is an honour to support one of our St Mary’s University academics in having such a significant role in this work”.

SHARE TwitterFacebookLinkedin