Skip to content Exit mobile menu

Mentor Certification

This section relates to guidance taken from the National Standards for school based ITT mentors.

It has been put together by the West London Teacher Education Collaboration (WELTEC), whose membership comprises: Brunel University, Kingston University, Lampton LWA, Richmond Training School Alliance, St Mary's University, Thamesmead Teacher Training Partnership, University of Roehampton.

Certification of mentoring

In West London we have developed a system to recognise the achievements of Mentors in the training of future teachers.

We will be doing this at two progressive levels, which provide mentors and prospective mentors with recognition of their successful work with trainee teachers. Such recognition will also provide evidence towards other professional development areas such as Performance Management Targets.

Both levels will be certificated and recognised by all SCITTs and HEIs who have taken part in the development of this work.

There are currently two levels of mentor certification:

Entry level: initial preparation for successful mentoring is for those new to mentoring, or those wishing to mentor in the near future.

Mastery level: being a successful mentor is for those who will be working to obtain the National Standards for school based initial teacher training (ITT) mentors.

Use the navigation links on the right hand side of the page to access the content that you need - Part 1 relates to Entry level, and Part 2 is Mastery level. In both sections the layout is similar:

  • Initial preparation
  • Who does what?
  • Outline of the modules and suggested activities
  • Entry/Mastery level record sheet
  • Criteria for certification

You will also find a selection of non-compulsory activities which may help your progress.

Introduction to the development modules

In order to progress onto the Mastery Level mentor development modules, a mentor must firstly have completed the Entry level mentor development modules 1 and 2. They will have mentored a student teacher for a single placement in the year. They will have obtained recognition for this single placement mentoring through the award of Entry level certification.

Entry level modules are:

  • Module 1: Understanding the Provider processes and paperwork;
  • Module 2: Getting the best out of the weekly training meeting.

Mastery level modules are:

  • Module 3: Observation and feedback skills
  • Module 4: Listening skills and difficult conversations
  • Module 5: Being a reflective practitioner
  • Module 6: The Teacher as a researcher

Before starting the Mastery modules a mentor must have revisited the Mentor Audit [document under revision, link to follow] and updated their confidence levels, showing progress in their knowledge and understanding from the first Entry Level audit they undertook.

In order to gain recognition for Mastery level certification a mentor must have completed a full year cycle with a student teacher, seeing them through the various stages of school experiences that make up the year. This could be completed over a two year period.

Mentors aiming to be recognised as gaining Mastery level certification will need to have dated evidence from work undertaken with the student teacher over the year(s).

The two Entry level modules or four Mastery level modules need to be completed so as to supply evidence to cross reference against the National Mentors Standards framework.

A very experienced mentor may apply for Mastery level certification by supplying evidence they have gathered from past mentoring experience.

Modules 1 and 2 for the Entry level should have been completed prior to engaging with Modules 3 to 6.