Skip to content Exit mobile menu

Appendix 5: Course Structure

The calendar below shows the structure of the PGCE Secondary (Core and SDF) course for the academic year 2021-22. Click the blue button below the key dates list to download an excel version of the full calendar.

At the bottom of this page is also a blue button to download the Professional Studies timetable for Secondary PGCEs 2021-22.

Key dates for 2021-22

  • Monday 6 September: Enrolment, SD induction, and university-based study begins
  • Thursday 27 September: Foundation phase school experience begins (4-day week, trainees in university on Wednesdays)
  • Monday 25 October - Friday 5 November: Trainees work to placement school half term dates, no university Wednesday during these weeks
  • Friday 10 December: Foundation Progress Record to be completed by trainee, Mentor and PCM by this date
  • Monday 20 December - Sunday 2 January: Christmas holiday (trainee works to placement school dates)
  • Monday 3 January 2022: University week
  • Monday 10 January: Development phase school experience begins (university days on Wednesdays until 9 February, then trainees in school 5 days after this)
  • Monday 14 February: trainees work to placement school half term dates
  • Friday 11 March: Development Progress Record to be completed by trainee, Mentor and PCM by this date
  • Monday 21 March: Consolidation phase school experience begins
  • Wednesday 23 March: University day for all trainees
  • Monday 4 April - Monday 18 April: Trainees work to placement school term dates
  • Monday 2 May: Bank holiday
  • Friday 27 May: Consolidation Assessment Record to be completed by trainee, Mentor and PCM by this date. Final day on school placement
  • Monday 30 May - Friday 3 June: Half term
  • Monday 6 June: Exit week for all trainees

Course calendar for Secondary PGCE programme 2021-22

 Professional Studies timetable for Secondary PGCE 2021-22