Skip to content Exit mobile menu

Creative Writing: First Novel staff details

Russell-SchechterDr Russell Schechter

Dr Russell Schechter is the author of seven published novels and over 20 short stories. His work in genre fiction has been acclaimed by Michael Marshall Smith and Kim Newman. In a long teaching career, Russell has taught at the universities of Cornell, Southern California and Roehampton. 

His novels have been published in the US by St Martin’s Press and Robinson in the UK. Russell is also a regular contributor to Mammoth and Gollancz collections of horror and fantasy. 

Russell has been nominated for a World Fantasy Award.

jonathan-gibbDr Jonathan Gibbs 

Jonathan Gibbs is the author of Randall, or The Painted Grape, published by Galley Beggar Press, as well as in French and Dutch translation. It was longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize and shortlisted for the Figaro Prix du Livre de Voyage Urbain. His short stories have appeared in Gorse, South Circular and Lighthouse and on The White Review, and have been anthologised in Best British Short Stories 2014 and 2015, and in Vanguard's #1 Short Story Anthology. He writes on books for The Guardian and The Times Literary Supplement and has also reviewed extensively for The Independent, Financial Times and Daily Telegraph and elsewhere.

Jonathan has a PhD in Creative and Critical Writing from the University of East Anglia, and has taught Creative Writing there as well as for the Kingston Writing School/British Council in Athens, the National Academy of Writing and at the LSE Literary Festival. 

He blogs at and tweets as @tiny_camels.

Ms Lucinda Hawksley 

Lucinda Hawksley is the author of more than 20 books, including biographies of the 19th-century artists Lizzie Siddal, Kate Perugini and Princess Louise; her other books include Charles Dickens and his Circle, Moustaches, Whiskers & Beards (a history of facial hair in portraiture) and the social history March, Women, March: Voices of the Women’s Movement. In October her latest title, Bitten By Witch Fever, will be published by Thames & Hudson.

Lucinda is the Royal Literary Fund Fellow at St Mary’s University, a Patron of the Charles Dickens Museum and a regular speaker at the National Portrait Gallery.

Richard-MillsDr Richard Mills 

Richard Mills is a Senior Lecturer in Irish Literature and Popular Culture at St Mary’s University, London. Publications include articles on Irish themes for Irish Studies Review, Writing Ulster and New Voices in Irish Criticism. Recent publications are chapters in Popular Music and Television in Britain (Ashgate: 2010), Fifty Years with the Beatles: The Impact of the Beatles on Contemporary Culture (Lodz: 2010) and The Playful Air of Lightness in Irish Literature and Culture (Cambridge: 2011), Bernard MacLaverty: New Critical Readings Richard Russell Rankin (ed.), (Bloomsbury: 2014), Monty Python in its International Context (Rowan and Littlefield: 2014) and ‘Transformer: David Bowie’s rejection of 1960s counter-culture fashion through his ‘Glam’ re-invention and stylings in the years 1969-1972’. Clothing Cultures, (Intellect: 2015).

Recent media work includes: An interview with Reeta Chakrabarti on Sir George Martin for BBC Radio 4, ‘Last Word’ 11 March 2016, an obituary of David Bowie with Matthew Bannister for BBC Radio 4, ‘Last Word’, 15 January, 2016 and an interview on David Bowie for RTE Radio 1, Brian Lally’s Tribute to David Bowie, January 2016.

Upcoming publications include ‘The Beatles and Fandom’ for Understanding the Beatles Volume 2: Creativity, Reception, Interpretation, Marcus Collins and James McGrath (eds) (Intellect: 2017), Richard is co-editing the conference proceedings of ‘Mad Dogs and Englishmen’: Pop Music and English Identities, Lee Brooks, Mark Donnelly and Richard Mills (eds) (Bloomsbury: 2017) and ‘Rule Britannia is out of Bounds’: David Bowie and English Heritage’ for the same volume.
He is currently working on and a monograph entitled The Beatles and Fandom.