Skip to contentExit mobile menu

Term dates

Academic term dates, including half-term, reading weeks, graduation and bank holidays.

2016/17
MonthEvent
March
  • Friday 31st March - End of term for Undergraduate Primary ITT and PGCE programmes
April
  • Friday 7th April - End of term for all other undergraduate programmes
  • Thursday 13th April - University closed (Maundy Thursday)
  • Friday 14th April - University closed (Good Friday)
  • Monday 17th April - University closed (Easter Monday)
  • Tuesday 18th April - Undergraduate Primary ITT and PGCE programmes resume
  • Monday 24th April - Semester 2 continues for all other undergraduate programmes
May
  • Monday 1st May - University closed (May Day Bank Holiday)
  • Monday 15th - Friday 26th May - Exam fortnight
  • Friday 26th May - End of Semester 2 for taught programmes, (excl. Undergraduate Primary ITT, PGCE & some Master's)
  • Monday 29th May - University closed (Spring Bank Holiday)
June
  • Friday 9th June - PGCE Secondary finishes
  • Friday 16th June - Undergraduate Primary ITT finishes
July
  • Friday 14th July - PGCE Primary finishes
  • Wednesday 19th - Thursday 20th - Summer graduation
August
  • Monday 28th August - University Closed (Summer Bank Holiday)

2017/18: all undergraduate and postgraduate programmes
(unless stated otherwise, below)

  • Induction week begins: Monday 11th September 2017
  • Semster one begins: Monday 18th September 2017
  • Finish for Christmas break: Friday 15th December 2017
  • Semester one resumes: Monday 8th January 2018
  • Semester one exams: Monday 8th - Friday 19th January 2018
  • Sesmer two begins: Monday 29th January 2018
  • Finish for Easter break: Friday 23rd March 2018
  • Semester two resumes: Monday 9th April 2018
  • Semster two exams: Monday 14th - Friday 25th May 2018
  • Semester two ends: Friday 25th May 2018
  • Exam resits: July 2018 (dates TBC)

2017/18: Primary Education with QTS BA (Hons)

  • Induction week begins: Monday 11th September 2017
  • Teaching begins: Monday 18th September 2017
  • Finish for Christmas break: Friday 15th December 2017
  • Teaching resumes: Tuesday 2nd January 2018
  • Finish for Easter break: Friday 23rd March 2018
  • Teaching resumes: Monday 9th April 2018
  • Teaching ends: Friday 25th May 2018

2017/18: PGCE Primary

  • Teaching begins: Tuesday 29th August 2017
  • Finish for Christmas break: Friday 15th December 2017
  • Teaching resumes: Tuesday 2nd January 2018
  • Finish for Easter break: Friday 23rd March 2018
  • Teaching resumes: Monday 9th April 2018
  • Teaching ends: Friday 22nd June 2018

2017/18: PGCE Secondary

  • Teaching begins: Monday 4th September 2017
  • Finish for Christmas break: Friday 15th December 2017
  • Teaching resumes: Tuesday 2nd January 2018
  • Finish for Easter break: Friday 23rd March 2018
  • Teaching resumes: Monday 9th April 2018
  • Teaching ends: Friday 8th June 2018

2017/18: Technical Theatre BA (Hons)

  • Induction week begins: Monday 11th September 2017
  • Semster one begins: Monday 18th September 2017
  • Finish for Christmas break: Friday 15th December 2017
  • Semester one resumes: Monday 8th January 2018
  • Semester one exams: Monday 8th - Friday 19th January 2018
  • Sesmer two begins: Monday 29th January 2018
  • Finish for Easter break: Friday 23rd March 2018
  • Semester two resumes: Monday 9th April 2018
  • Semster two exams: Monday 14th - Friday 25th May 2018
  • Semester two ends: Friday 25th May 2018
  • Semester three begins: Monday 28th May 2018
  • Semester three ends: Friday 13th July 2018
none