Skip to content Exit mobile menu

Term dates

Academic term dates, including half-term, reading weeks, graduation and bank holidays.

2018/19

The term dates for the 2018/19 academic year for all undergraduate and postgraduate programmes are (unless stated otherwise below):

  • Induction week begins: Monday 10th September 2018
  • Semester one begins: Monday 17th September 2018
  • Finish for Christmas break: Friday 14th December 2018
  • Semester one resumes: Monday 7th January 2019
  • Semester one exams: Monday 7th - Friday 18th January 2019
  • Semester one ends: Friday 18th January 2019
  • Semester two begins: Monday 28th January 2019
  • Spring graduation: Friday 29th - Saturday 30th March 2019
  • Finish for Easter break: Monday 15th - Friday 26th April 2019
  • Semester two resumes: Monday 29th April 2019
  • Semester two exams: Monday 13th - Friday 24th May 2019
  • Semester two ends: Friday 24th May 2019
  • Summer graduation: Wednesday 17th - Thursday 18th July 2019
  • Exam resits: July 2019 (dates TBC)
2018/19: Drama Academic Calendar
  • Induction week begins: Monday 10th September 2018
  • Semester one begins: Monday 17th September 2018
  • Reading week: Monday 22nd - Friday 26th October 2018
  • T Junction Festival: Monday 5th - Friday 16th November 2018
  • Semester one ends for Level 6 pathway students: Friday 14th December 2018
  • Christmas break: Monday17th December 2018 - Friday 4th January 2019
  • Semester one resumes for Acting and Technical: Monday 7th January 2019
  • Semester one resumes for Level 4 and Level 5 Acting and Technical Theatre students: Friday 25th January 2019
  • Semester one ends: Friday 25th January 2019
  • Semester two begins: Monday 28th January 2019
  • Reading week: Monday 4th March 2019
  • Semester two ends for Level 6 pathway students and Technical Theatre students: Friday 10th May 2019
  • Trimester three begins: Monday 13th May 2019
  • Semester two ends for Level 4 and Level 5 Acting students: Wednesday 29th May 2019
  • Trimester three ends: Wednesday 31st July 2019
2018/19: Primary Education with QTS BA (Hons); Primary Education (Work Based Route) BA (Hons); Education in Context FdA
  • Induction week begins: Monday 10th September 2018
  • Teaching begins: Monday 17th September 2018
  • Finish for Christmas break: Friday 14th December 2018
  • Teaching resumes: Monday 7th  January 2019
  • Finish for Easter break: Friday 5th April 2019
  • Teaching resumes: Monday 23rd April 2019
  • Teaching ends: Friday 24th May 2019
  • Exit days for finalist students:
    • Monday 13th May: Primary Education  (Work Based Route) BA Hons
    • Monday 20th May: Primary Education with QTS BA (Hons)
    • Thursday 23rd May: Education in Context FdA
2018/19: PGCE Primary
  • Induction: Tuesday 28th August 2018
  • Teaching begins: Monday 3rd September 2018
  • Finish for Christmas break: Friday 21st December 2018
  • Teaching resumes: Monday 7th January 2019
  • Finish for Easter break: Friday 5th April 2019
  • Teaching resumes: Tuesday 23rd April 2019
  • Teaching ends: Friday 12th July 2019
2018/19: PGCE Secondary
  • Teaching begins: Monday 3rd September 2018
  • Finish for Christmas break: Friday 21st December 2018
  • Teaching resumes: Monday 7th January 2019
  • Finish for Easter break: Friday 5th April 2019
  • Teaching resumes: Tuesday 23rd April 2019
  • Teaching ends: Friday 7th June 2019

Easter Dates: These are subject to change as school partnerships and placements may vary dates to meet their needs.

2018/19: MA Teaching and Learning
  • Induction for year one begins: Monday 3rd September 2018
  • Teaching begins: Monday 10th September 2018 (year two return)
  • Finish for Christmas break: Friday 14th December 2018
  • Teaching resumes: Wednesday 9th January 2019
  • Finish for Easter break: Friday 5th April 2019
  • Teaching resumes: Tuesday 23rd April 2019
  • Teaching ends: Friday 21st June 2019