Skip to content Exit mobile menu

St Mary's Athletes and Medals

Athletes and Medal Winners

14 St Mary’s athletes (students, alumni and former or current EPACC endurance runners) were selected for Team GB:

  • Andy Baddeley (1,500m)
  • Julia Bleasdale (5,000m and 10,000m)
  • Mo Farah (5,000m and 10,000m)
  • Nick McCormick (5,000m)
  • Ross Murray (1,500m)
  • Andrew Osagie (800m)
  • Scott Overall (marathon)
  • Jo Pavey (5,000m and 10,000m)
  • Nicola Sanders (4x400m)
  • Stuart Stokes (3,000m steeplechase)
  • Moe Sbihi (men’s eight rowing)
  • James Tindall (hockey)
  • Matt Wells (double sculls rowing)
  • Mara Yamauchi (marathon)

A number of other athletes who train at St Mary’s competed for Team GB at either the Olympics or Paralympics:

  • Tim Brabants (K-1 1,000m sprint canoeing)
  • Martin Sinclair (CP football)
  • Helen Turner (wheelchair basketball)
  • David Weir (T54 wheelchair racing, 800m, 1,500m, 5,000m and marathon)

St Mary's supported the following 15 medal winning performances:

Team GB

  • Mo Farah, two Golds (5000m and 10,000m)
  • David Weir, four Golds (T54 800m, 1500m, 5000m and marathon)
  • Moe Sbihi, Bronze (men’s eight rowing)

Team China

  • Ding Chen, Gold (20km race walk)
  • Zhen Wang, Bronze (20km race walk)
  • Si Tianfeng, Bronze (50km race walk)
  • Shenjie Queyang, Bronze (50km race walk)

Team South Africa

  • Caster Semenya, Silver (800m)

Team Kenya

  • Sally Kipyego, Silver (10,000m)
  • Vivian Cheruyiot, Silver and Bronze (5000m and 10,000m)