Skip to content Exit mobile menu

The assessment only route allows you to demonstrate that you already meet all of the Teachers' Standards for the award of QTS (see Appendix 2 of Assessment Only Handbook).

This is not a training programme and is only available for unqualified teachers with appropriate educational qualifications and experience. The Assessment Only Route should not be considered as a substitute route for applicants unable to secure places on initial teacher training courses.

This route to qualification is suitable for teachers who do not have QTS, but who have taught for two years or more in at least two schools (or colleges), with substantial experience in two consecutive age phases.

For information about the programme please contact the QTS team directly by emailing

Download the handbook

Age phase requirements

All applicants recommended for the award of QTS will be assessed as meeting the QTS standards across at least two consecutive key stages.

  • Early Years/Foundation stage
  • KS1
  • KS2
  • KS3 
  • KS4
  • KS5