Skip to content Exit mobile menu

What is CCRS?

CCRS stands for the Catholic Certificate in Religious Studies and is awarded by the Board of Religious Studies on behalf of the Bishops' Conference of England and Wales. It is an important certificate for teachers wishing to teach in a Catholic school, and a key qualification for professional development.

The CCRS gives each person a theological literacy and enables them to understand and contribute to the ethos of a Catholic school and other schools with a religious character.

To obtain your certificate all eight modules have to be completed, each with up to ten hours lecture time and an assessment essay or presentation. The CCRS programme for all PGCE and BAITT students provides a pathway to enable you to complete the required six core and two specialist modules, offered through four three day sessions.

Course content

Six core modules

  • Old Testament
  • New Testament
  • Sacraments
  • The Church
  • Christian Morality
  • Christology

Two specialist modules

RE1 and RE2 are two modules that explore teaching RE in the classroom and teaching RE in the Catholic school.

Dates for 2020/21

Autumn School

Modules: Old Testament and New Testament
 Monday evenings between 14th September - 19th October 2020, 6-9pm

Spring School

Modules: The Church and Sacraments
Dates: Monday 15th - Wednesday 17th February 2021

Summer School (1)

Modules: Christology and Christian Morality
Dates: Tuesday 2nd - Thursday 4th June 2021

Modules: RE1 and RE2
Please contact for more information on these modules. 

Book your place now

Full attendance at all sessions is required from all students. Please ensure you can commit to the scheduled dates as unfortunately we are unable to give refunds.

Find out more

For more information please contact Dr Káren North: