Skip to content Exit mobile menu

Senior Leadership Team of the University

This page outlines the role and responsibilities of the Senior Leadership Team and information about each of the members.

Roles and responsibilities of the Senior Leadership Team

The University's Senior Leadership Team (SLT) meets on a regular basis to set the direction of the University and determine the University's strategic approach to meet the objectives of Vision 2030 and goals of the University. Meetings are chaired by the Vice-Chancellor and bring together senior leaders from across the University. The Vice-Chancellor and the SLT team report to, and implement the decision of the Board of Governors who are responsible for the strategic direction of the University. 


The Vice-Chancellor is the University’s Chief Executive Officer, responsible for strategic leadership, governance, academic excellence, and financial sustainability, whilst maintaining the University’s distinct mission and core values. The Vice-Chancellor chairs the Senior Leadership Team, the University Executive Committee and Academic Board, and is a member of the Board of Governors. The Vice-Chancellor is also the University’s principal ambassador, promoting its work regionally, nationally and internationally. 


The Provost is the Chief Academic Officer responsible for oversight of all academic activity across the University's three faculties, providing leadership in defining and driving forward the vision, mission, and priorities of the University for student experience, learning, teaching, academic partnerships, and research. 

The Provost also has responsibility for Quality and Standards, degree outcomes, progression, and retention. As Chair to the University's Academic Strategy, Portfolio and Student Experience Committee, the Provost maintains oversight of the St Mary's Academic Offer for all taught programmes to include the University's apprenticeship provision, academic strategies, policies, regulations and frameworks. Professor Dagkas is also Deputy Chair to the University's Academic Board reporting to the Board of Governors.

Alongside the above academic areas, the Provost currently also has oversight of International Engagement, Student Recruitment and Admissions. 

Chief Operating Officer  

The Chief Operating Officer is responsible for providing leadership to the University’s key professional service departments that underpin the effective and efficient operation of the University and ensures that these services meet the needs of the St Mary’s community.

Chief Financial Officer

      The Chief Financial Officer leads on all aspects of finance within the University including business partnering, strategic planning, risk management, and internal audit. They are also responsible for alumni and development and employability. 

University Secretary  

The University Secretary role is to provide legal advice and information on governance, policy, and data protection. The University Secretary is a member of the Board of Governors and a member of the senior leadership team, as well advising and working closely with the Vice-Chancellor and committee chairs.

Further information and bibliography

Senior Leadership Team

Symeon DagkasProf Symeon Dagkas

Provost and Chief Academic Officer

Jo Blunden Jo Blunden

Chief Operating Officer