Skip to content Exit mobile menu

Declaration of St Mary's University Against Antisemitism

St Mary’s is a Catholic University and as such is aligned with the Catholic Church’s position on antisemitism as set out in its “foundational text,” the Declaration of the Second Vatican Council, Nostra Aetate on Interreligious Dialogue.

Nostra Aetate states unequivocally the Church’s condemnation of antisemitism. The Declaration states that:

in her rejection of every persecution against any person, the Church, mindful of the patrimony she shares with the Jews and moved not by political reasons but by the Gospel's spiritual love, decries hatred, persecutions, displays of antisemitism, directed against Jews at any time and by anyone.

The Board of Governors, affirming the clear and unambiguous condemnation of antisemitism declared by Nostra Aetate, and its fundamental values as a Catholic university, has approved that the University shall accept the following definition of antisemitism as stated by the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA):

Antisemitism is a certain perception of Jews, which may be expressed as hatred toward Jews. Rhetorical and physical manifestations of antisemitism are directed toward Jewish or non-Jewish individuals and/or their property, toward Jewish community institutions and religious facilities.

In doing so, the Board of Governors believes that the acceptance of the above definition does not affect its obligations to ensure the protection of the academic freedom of its staff as stated in paragraph 20.4 in its articles of association.

Board of Governors
December 2020