Skip to content Exit mobile menu

Education and teaching research seminars and conference recordings

Academics from the Institute of Education host seminars and conferences throughout the year, many of which are online.

All talks from the Institute of Education Research Seminars Series 2021/22 were recorded and can be viewed below.

Answer-checking strategies reveal growth in cognitive powers: numerical reasoning of a student with learning difficulties in maths - Education Research Seminar

  • Date: June 20th 2022 
  • Speaker: Helen Thouless

Right from the start: What the narratives of qualifies teachers in maintained early years settings reveal about ITE, policy, practice and how to support retention - Education Research Seminar

  • Date: Tuesday 7th June 2022 
  • Speaker: Viki Veale

The teaching and learning of mathematics for KS1 pupils with speech, language and communication needs in mainstream classrooms - Education Research Seminar

  • Date: Thursday 19th May 2022
  • Speaker: Helen Williams

Teacher Identity in Catholic Schools

  • Date: Wednesday 4th May 2022 
  • Speaker: Dr Mary Mihovilovic

Challenges for Headteachers in Catholic Schools in England

  • Date: Wednesday 27th April 2022
  • Speaker: Dr David Fincham

GI-Pedagogy: Innovative Pedagogies for Teaching with GIS - Education Research Seminar

  • Date: Wednesday 9th February 2022 
  • Speaker: Sophie Wilson

Transforming Transmission? Assessing Faith & Practice in a COVID impacted world

  • Date: Monday 31st January 2022 
  • Speaker: Karen North

Narrative Accounts of Young Men and Service Engagement

  • Date: Wednesday 19th January 2022 
  • Speaker: Mark Price

A Global Learning Approach for Science in Primary Schools

  • Date: Wednesday 8th December
  • Speaker: Amy Strachan

Trauma-informed disability politics: Interdisciplinary navigations and implications

  • Date: Wednesday 24th November
  • Speaker: Anastasia Liasidou

Postgradute CAP Research Updates

  • Date: Wednesday 10th November
  • Speakers: Gemma Cass, Nicola Tierney, Cathy Renwood, Karen Fox, Anna Lise Gordon

Investigating the Impact of Trainee Primary Teachers' Creative Writer Identity on their Developing Pedagogy

  • Date: Monday 11th October 2021
  • Speaker: Kerry Assemakis

WASH, Phonics and Citizen Science: Evaluating approaches to education in less developed countries

  • Date: Wednesday 24th March 2021
  • Speaker: Prof Pauline Dixon

School Choice in Sub-Saharan Africa: Dispelling the Myths

  • Date: Monday 8th March 2021
  • Speaker: Dr Steve Humble MBE

Persisting Fault Lines? What essays can tell us about pupils’ conflict and peace narratives in Côte d’Ivoire and who shapes them

  • Date: Monday 22nd February 2021
  • Speaker: Dr Line Kuppens

Decolonising the Human Rights Education Curriculum in Gaza, Palestine

  • Date: Wednesday 17th February 2021
  • Speaker: Dr Nancy Albhaisi

Catholics and Conspiracies: Can a Catholic, virtues-based education help young people distinguish fact from fake news?

  • Date: Wednesday 10th February 2021
  • Speaker: Dr Aidan Cottrell-Boyce

The Extent to which Spiritual Capital is promoted in Contemporary Independent Catholic Schools

  • Date: Monday 25th January 2021
  • Speaker: Dr John Lydon

Education and the Economy of Francseco

  • Date: Monday 11th January 2021
  • Speaker: Dr Gherardo Girardi

The UK’s Ambitions in Vocational Education – are there lessons from Germany?

  • Date: Monday 30th November 2020
  • Speakers: Dr Andre Alves and Ines Gregorio

Year six teachers in English maintained primaries – experience of teaching writing

  • Date: Wednesday 11th November 2020
  • Speaker: James Foley

EduBeing: A pilot programme of well-being for pre-service teachers in the USA and UK

  • Date: Wednesday 4th November 2020
  • Speakers: Dr Christine Edwards-Leis, Jennifer Murray and Dr Alesia Moldavan

A Cloister in the World: Exploring emerging visions of leadership in contemporary Benedictine school chaplaincy

  • Date: Wednesday 28th October 2020
  • Speaker: Paul Bryant

Educate – Mentor – Nurture: Improving the transition from initial teacher education to qualified teacher status and beyond

  • Date: Wednesday 21st October 2020
  • Speaker: Prof Anna Lise Gordon