Skip to contentExit mobile menu

Benedict XVI Centre Staff and Affiliates

Internal Affiliates

stephen-bullivantProf Stephen Bullivant

Director, Benedict XVI Centre; Professor of Theology and Ethics
Email: stephen.bullivant@stmarys.ac.uk
Tel: 020 8240 4185
Specialist areas: Dogmatic Theology; Atheism; Social-Scientific Study of (Non)Religion; Quantitative Methods

andre-alvesDr André Azevedo Alves

Visiting Senior Fellow, Business Studies; Lecturer, Political Science, Catholic University of Portugal
Specialist areas: Political Economy; Public Policy Analysis; Regulation; Ethics; Political Philosophy

ashley-beckRevd Dr Ashley Beck

Lecturer in Pastoral Ministry
Email: ashley.beck@stmarys.ac.uk
Specialist areas: Catholic Social Teaching; Europe; Theologies of Liberation

philip-boothProf Philip Booth

Professor of Finance, Public Policy, and Ethics
Email: philip.booth@stmarys.ac.uk
Specialist areas: Economics; Business Ethics; Catholic Social Teaching

leonora-butauLeonora Butau

Graduate Assistant in Theology; PhD candidate in Bioethics
Email: leonora.butau@stmarys.ac.uk
Specialist areas: Bioethics; Theology of the Body; NaPro Technology

john-charmleyProf John Charmley

Pro-Vice Chancellor, Academic Strategy; Professor of History
Email: john.charmley@stmarys.ac.uk
Specialist areas: Religion and British politics, nineteen and twentieth centuries

ruth-kellyRt Hon Ruth Kelly

Pro Vice-Chancellor for Research and Enterprise
Email: ruth.kelly@stmarys.ac.uk
Specialist areas: Finance; Education

pia-matthewsDr Pia Matthews

Lecturer in Bioethics
Email: pia.matthews@stmarys.ac.uk
Specialist areas: Bioethics; John Paul II; Theology of the Body; Disability

jacob-phillipsDr Jacob Phillips

Lecturer in MA Theology
Email: jacob.phillips@stmarys.ac.uk
Specialist areas: Dogmatic Theology; Fundamental Theology (especially Newman, Ratzinger and Pryzwara)

Dr Francesca Montemaggi

Researcher
Email: francesca.montemaggi@stmarys.ac.uk
Specialist areas: Sociology of Religion

Kit Penny

Centre Administrator
Email: kathryn.penny@stmarys.ac.uk


External Affiliates

Edmund Adamus

Director for Marriage and Family Life, Diocese of Westminster
Website

Dr Christopher R Altieri

World News Editor, Vatican Radio
Assistant Professor of Philosophy, Collegium Augustinianum, USA
Website

Rt Rev David Charlesworth OSB

Abbot, Buckfast Abbey
Website

Prof Matthew Levering

Perry Family Foundation Professor of Theology, Mundelein Seminary, USA
Website

Dr Catherine Ruth Pakaluk

Director, Stein Center for Social Research, Ave Maria University, USA
Website

Dr Mark D Regnerus

Associate Prof of Sociology, University of Texas at Austin 
Website

James Roberts

Assistant Editor, The Tablet 
Website

Dr Damian Thompson

Assistant Editor, The Spectator
Visiting Lecturer in the Sociology of Religion, St Mary's University
Website